مقابلة مع خوان كانسبولسكي

كارتر ، 3 أغسطس 2001 ، بوينس آيرس ، الأرجنتين

قابلت خوان كانسبولسكي وزوجته فاني ديامانت في منزلهما في بوينس آيرس في آخر ظهيرة لي في تلك المدينة. (...) بعد أن تم تقديمي بشكل صحيح ، بدأت في طرح سلسلة من الأسئلة وقمت بتضمين المقتطفات التالية من المقابلة.

س: كيف ومتى بدأت رحلتك كفنانة؟

ج. جوان: عندما كنت في المدرسة الابتدائية ، تم الاعتراف بي كطالب يتمتع بموهبة خاصة. شجعني أحد أساتذتي في ذلك الوقت على متابعة اهتمامي بالفن. في عام 1944 ، عندما كنت في الثانية عشرة من عمري ، كانت هناك مسابقة فنية دولية لإحياء ذكرى تحرير باريس. تم تنظيم هذه المسابقة في بوينس آيرس ولكن المعرض أقيم في نهاية المطاف في باريس. في ذلك الوقت ، كان القضاة في اللجنة يحاولون ترقية الطلاب الذين كانوا أعلى في المستوى الاجتماعي. في ذلك الوقت ، شارك 1500 طفل في هذا العرض ، وكان لدي عمل واحد معروض. من هذه النقطة ، كان هناك أستاذ آخر شجعني على دخول المدرسة الوطنية للفنون التي كانت مدرسة فنية مرموقة للغاية. كان عمري 13 عامًا عندما دخلت مدرسة الفنون هذه ، ومن هناك كان علي أن أبدأ في العثور على صوتي كفنان.

س. ما هي بعض التأثيرات الفنية الرئيسية بالنسبة لك في بداية حياتك المهنية؟

أ. جوان: لقد أثر في عملي عدد من الرسامين الأرجنتينيين ، من بينهم إميليو بيتوروتي. هناك العديد من الحركات الفنية في النصف الأول من القرن العشرين ، يتعارض معظمها مع تأثير الانطباعية. أدت هذه الاتجاهات المتعارضة في عشرينيات القرن الماضي إلى ظهور حركة Avant Garde. في الأربعينيات من القرن الماضي كان لديك تأثير Constructiv-ism. بالعيش في الأرجنتين ، تأثرنا دائمًا بالاتجاهات السائدة في أوروبا بعد سنوات ، حيث استغرق الأمر بعض الوقت لتصل إلينا تأثيرات هذه الأفكار السائدة. وبهذه الطريقة لم يكن تأثير هذه الأفكار حقيقيًا ، بل كان تدفقًا للأفكار.

س: بعد الحرب العالمية الثانية ، هل ظهرت مرة أخرى موجة من الأفكار الجديدة في عالم الفن والتي أثرت عليك كفنان؟

ج. جوان: لا ، معظم هذه الحركات كانت قد بدأت قبل الحرب ، وكان التأثير الحقيقي لا يزال هو التكعيبية. جلبت Futurism إلى الأرجنتين من قبل Emilio Pettoruti ، وهو فنان أرجنتيني معروف. رسم العديد من الفنانين الأرجنتينيين ودرسوا في أوروبا خلال هذه الفترة. في المكسيك ، كانت الفنون البصرية تكافح من أجل أسلوبها الخاص الذي يتضمن القضايا الاجتماعية في ذلك الوقت. كان لهذا تأثير أيضًا. لطالما أردت تطوير أسلوبي الخاص أو صوتي فيما يتعلق بإدراج موقف سياسي اجتماعي ، لكنني اخترت أن أفعل ذلك من وجهة نظر جمالية ولا توجد أجندة سياسية وراء ذلك.

س: كيف ترون الفنانين الشباب في الأرجنتين اليوم؟

أ. جوان: أرى ارتباكًا عامًا لدى العديد من الفنانين الشباب. هناك نقص في الأصالة في بعض الحالات ، وهناك نقص في الإيمان أو الأمل. من الصعب العثور على أعمال فنية أصلية بعد كل ما تم القيام به بالفعل في الفنون. من ناحية أخرى ، فإن الفنانين الجدد يائسون للعثور على شيء جديد ليقولوه ، وفي نفس الوقت ليس لديهم القدرة على فهم ما يحدث بالفعل أو يتطور في عملهم. تم تدريب بعض فنانينا الشباب من قبل أساتذة فنون لم يتم تدريبهم جيدًا في الفنون أنفسهم.

أرى تراجعا في المدارس الفنية عن المستوى السابق في علم التربية أو وجهة النظر الفنية.

س: ما هو برأيك سبب تراجع جودة تدريب الفنانين الشباب؟

أ. جوان: المشكلة هي أن هناك الكثير من الناس الآن مهتمون بالفنون بطريقة سطحية. ويرجع ذلك إلى حقيقة أن وسائل الإعلام والسوق تملي من حيث ما يتم بيعه في سوق الفن. أعتقد أن الفن مهنة يجب أن تدرس فيها كثيرًا وتستغرق وقتًا لتعلم التقنيات. في نفس الوقت يجب أن تكون مستقلاً في تفكيرك. الفن يشمل التاريخ وليس الترفيه. إنها طريقة للحصول على ضمير ، وكفن لغة يمكن أن يحل محل الكلمات كوسيلة للتواصل.

س: في مقدمة الكتالوج الخاص بك يذكر المصطلح البلاستيكي. هل يمكنك شرح هذا المصطلح؟

أ. جوان: إنها تترجم كتعبير بطريقة بصرية. إنه شيء لا يمكن التعبير عنه بالكلمات. إنه شيء تم النظر إليه ورؤيته من قبل الفنان والتقاطه كصورة بصرية.

س: ما هو شعورك حيال العملية التي يتم من خلالها اختيار الفن للمعارض؟

أ. جوان: أشعر أن الفن لا يمكن استخدامه لأغراض العلاقات العامة. عندما يكون هناك العديد من الميول المختلفة أو تضارب المصالح ، فإن الأشخاص الذين هم في وضع يسمح لهم بوضع المعايير أو اختيار الفن الذي سيتم الترويج له للمعارض قد يكون لديهم اهتمامات أخرى في القلب. غالبًا ما يكون الأشخاص المسؤولون عن اختيار العمل للمعرض هم مديرو الفنون. لقد وصلوا إلى موقع في حياتهم المهنية يتطلب مزيدًا من الاهتمام بالاتجاهات السياسية والاجتماعية السائدة. من خلال هذه القنوات يتم وضع المعايير لما يُعرف بالفن.

س: في العام الماضي ، كان لديك عمل معروض في متحف اللوفر في باريس. هل يمكن أن تخبرني المزيد عن كيفية حدوث ذلك؟

ج. جوان: لقد قمت بالعديد من العروض في الخارج ، سواء في الولايات المتحدة أو في أمريكا اللاتينية. أعتقد أن عددًا كافيًا من الأشخاص الذين شاهدوا عملي شعروا بضرورة عرضه هناك. أنا في مرحلة من مسيرتي المهنية يقف فيها عملي بمفرده. أشعر أيضًا أنه يجب على كل فنان أن يسأل نفسه ، "ما هو الفن؟" وأنا أبحث دائمًا عن طريقة للتعبير عن لغتي الشخصية وتطويرها. هناك شيئان يجب أن يحدث لك كفنان. الأول هو أنه يجب عليك إظهار عملك ، والثاني هو أن شخصًا ما يجب أن يراه. يجب أن يكون لدى الشخص الذي يرى عملك رؤية واسعة لماهية الفن. هذا للأسف هو الجانب السلبي لجمهور الفن. غالبًا ما لا يكون لدى المشاهد فهم حقيقي لما يدور حوله الفن. والنتيجة أن هناك أعمالا فنية تحظى بالتبجيل وليس لها في الواقع أي قيمة جمالية أو فنية ، حيث قد يكون الميل لمتابعة الاتجاهات أو متطلبات السوق.

يسأل العديد من الفنانين أنفسهم لماذا يرسمون أو يصنعون الفن. كيف أجبت على هذا السؤال بنفسك؟

ج: أشعر أن لوحاتي وعملي يعبران عن نفسي. الحياة بالنسبة لي هي الرسم وأنا أتواصل بصوت شخصي أو لغة (...)

Interview with Juan Kancepolski

N. Carter, August, 3, 2001, Buenos Aires, Argentina 

 

 I met Juan Kancepolski and his wife Fanny Diamant at their home in Buenos Aires on my last afternoon in that city. (…) After I was properly introduced I began to ask a series of questions and I have included the following excerpts from the interview.

 

Q: How and when did you begin your journey as an artist?

 

A. Juan: When I was in primary school, I was recognized as a pupil who had special talent. One of my teachers at that time encouraged me to pursue my interest in art. In 1944, when I was twelve years of age there was an international art competition to commemorate the liberation of Paris. This contest was organized in Buenos Aires but the exhibition was eventually held in Paris. At that time the judges on the committee were trying to promote students who were higher up on the social scale. At that time, 1500 children participated in this show, and I had one work on display. From this point, there was another professor who encouraged me to enter the National School of the Arts which was a very prestigious art school. I was 13 when I entered this art school and from there I had to begin to find my own voice as an artist.

 

Q. What were some of the main artistic influences for you early in your career?

 

A. Juan: A number of Argentine painters have influenced my work, among them Emilio Pettoruti.  There are many movements in art in the first half of the 20th century, most of which contrast the impact of Impressionism. These opposing trends in the 1920’s gave rise to the Avant Garde movement. In the 1940’s you had the influence of Constructiv-ism. Living in Argentina, we were always impacted by the trends in Europe years later, as it took some time for the influences of these mainstream ideas to reach us. In this way the effect of these ideas was not as authentic, but rather an influx of ideas.

 

Q.  After WWII was there again a surge of new ideas in the art world that affected you as an artist?

 

A. Juan:  No, most of these movements had already begun before the war, and the real impact was still Cubism. Futurism was brought to Argentina by Emilio Pettoruti, who is a well-known Argentine artist. Many Argentine artists painted and studied in Europe during this period. In Mexico the visual arts were struggling for their own style which included social issues of the day. This had an impact as well. I have always wanted to develop my own style or voice with regards to including a social political stance, but I have chosen to do it from an aesthetic point of view and there is no political agenda behind it.

 

Q. How do you see the young artists in Argentina today?

 

A. Juan: I see a general confusion among many of the young artists. There is a lack of originality in some cases, and there is a lack of faith or hope. It is hard to find original works of art after all that has already been done in the arts. On the one hand, new artists are desperate to find something new to say, and at the same time they do not have the ability to understand what is really happening or evolving in their work. Some of our young artists have been trained by art professors who were not really well trained in the arts themselves.

 

I see a decline in the art schools from the previous level of pedagogy or artistic point of view.

 

Q. What do you feel is the cause for the decline in the quality of training for young artists?

 

A. Juan: The problem is that there are many people now who are interested in the arts in a superficial way. This is due to the fact that the media and the market dictate in terms of what sells in the art market. I believe that art is a profession in which you must study a great deal, and take the time to learn techniques. At the same time you must be independent in your thinking. Art involves history and it is not entertainment. It is a way of having a conscience, and as a language art can replace words as a way to communicate.

 

Q. On the front of your catalog it states the term plásticas. Could you explain this term?

 

A. Juan: It translates as expression in a visual way. It is something that cannot be expressed in words. It is something that has been looked at, seen by the artist and captured as a visual image.

 

Q. How do you feel about the process by which art is selected for exhibitions?

 

A. Juan: I feel that art cannot be used for public relations purposes. When there are many different tendencies or conflicts of interest, the people who are in the position to set the standards or choose which art will be promoted for exhibitions may have other interests at heart. Often the people in charge of selecting work for an exhibit are arts administrators. They have reached a position in their career that requires more attention to the political and social trends of the day. It is through these channels that the standards are set for what becomes known as art.

 

Q. Last year, you had work on display at the Louvre in Paris. Could you tell me more about how this came to be?

 

A. Juan: I have had many shows abroad, both in the US as well as in Latin America. I think that enough people that had seen my work felt that it should be shown there. I am at a point in my career where my work stands on its own. I also feel that each artist should be asking themselves, “What is Art?” and I am always searching for a way to express and develop my own personal language. There are two things that must happen for you as an artist. The first is that you must show your work, and the second is that someone has to see it. The person who sees your work has to have a broad vision of what art is.  This is unfortunately the negative aspect of art audiences. It is often the case that the viewer does not really have an understanding of what art is all about. The result is that there are works of art that are revered that actually have no aesthetic or artistic value, as the tendency may be to follow the trends or market demands.

 

Q. Many artists ask themselves why do they paint or make art. How have you answered this question for yourself?

 

A. I feel that my paintings and my work express my self. To me life is painting and I communicate through a personal voice or language.(…)